What are some alternative razors to the Merkur 37C for beginners?

Ryan87

What are some alternative razors to the Merkur 37C for beginners?

Post by Ryan87 »

I'm new to wet shaving and recently got my hands on a Merkur 37C, but I'm finding it a bit too aggressive for my skin. I've been doing some research and I realize that it's not the most recommended razor for beginners like myself. I was wondering if anyone could suggest some alternative razors to the Merkur 37C that would be more suitable for a beginner like me? I've heard that the Merkur 34C is a similar design without the slant bar, would that be a good option? Or are there other razors out there that are more forgiving and would help me achieve a close, comfortable shave (CCS) without the risk of nicks and cuts? I've also seen some mentions of the Parker 96R, but I'm not sure if it's too aggressive as well. Any advice or recommendations would be much appreciated!
GavinGamer

Post by GavinGamer »

I completely understand your concern about the Merkur 37C being too aggressive for your skin. While it's a great razor, it's indeed not the most forgiving option for beginners. The Merkur 34C is a great alternative, as you mentioned, since it has a similar design without the slant bar, making it a bit more gentle. However, if you're looking for other options, I'd recommend exploring the Edwin Jagger DE89 or the Muhle R41. Both are well-regarded for their comfort and forgiveness, making them excellent choices for those new to wet shaving.
Harrison

Post by Harrison »

I'd like to add that the Parker 96R is a great option for beginners too! It's often overlooked, but its mild nature makes it perfect for those still getting the hang of wet shaving. Plus, it's very affordable. Give it a try, and you might be surprised at how comfortable it is!
WillInTheWild

Post by WillInTheWild »